I suggest you ...

Deleting or Hiding Groups

I Know that you Guys are working on this issues.
I presume that you are working on Hiding Groups instead of Deleting them.

What i wanna suggest is that if you can provide both the options, Deleting & Hididng, it would be good.
But Deleting should be done only after all the users in that group are Settled Up.

54 votes
Vote
Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
You have left! (?) (thinking…)
Uday Karthik Yadlapalli shared this idea  ·   ·  Flag idea as inappropriate…  ·  Admin →
completed  ·  AdminSplitwise Support (-, Splitwise) responded  · 

Update: we now hide groups that have been settled up for at least 40 days. You can also still delete groups.

We’d definitely like a better way to handle the closing/hiding of groups, besides just deleting the group entirely. We’ve got a lot on our to-do list, but we’re hoping to add this feature in the not-too-distant future :)

15 comments

Sign in
(thinking…)
Sign in with: facebook google
Signed in as (Sign out)
Submitting...
  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I am still hoping for this feature to be added: it's frustrating to have settled up in a group and not be able to hide it. Please add the ability to archive or hide groups that you're finished with, without needing to delete the group altogether.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I have many groups that were settled for way more than 40 days and they're not hidden.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    How do I opt out of a group? I have settled up, but don't want to delete the group as some people haven't.

  • Jeremy commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Hiding groups would be good, but even a simple sort by date so most recently created groups are at top would make group selection much more convenient.

  • Bobby Sciortino commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I have groups that have been settled for more than 40 dated that are still showing. How can I fix that?

  • sachin khare commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I also appreciate Splitwise to add this feature. But with one suggesion that If I Archive a group it should be hidden or trashed only for me without affecting others irrespective of all bill has been settled for others or not. But I should be able to archive if n only if all bills already settled for me in that grp. same applies in archive a friend as well.

  • Drumil Shere commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    please add a function to the app where the user can delete the history that is all the settles up previous groups. otherwise the groups just keep on adding and looks very cluttered

  • Kapil commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    In mobile app, settled up friends are displayed for many days..and then they are hidden/archived. If you can just set timer for settled up people for may be a day or two..it would be awesome.

  • Anonymous commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Groups becomes old, and no one settles up immediately. Anyone can change in group anytime affecting everyone.
    With close group option, group will be locked for any further changes and all the amount due will be posted to individual account with group name. Settle up or anything else will not affect the group at all. Group can be there for view only purpose.

  • Axel commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Not only groups, but also people need to be retired. I want to focus on the current trip, not all the people from trips years ago.

  • skasusan commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    I'm just seeing this comment after researching to see if this is possible. I encourage Splitwise to add this feature soon! (this comment thread is over a year old). We'd like to archive our wedding, four months ago, but don't want to delete the expenses. It's now getting us as individuals mixed up with the group.

  • Todd Ward commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    Along these same lines, the ability to move item/s from a group to a person/s and/or different group.

  • Jakob commented  ·   ·  Flag as inappropriate

    This should remove the group from the list and hide it in a list of retired groups. No new bills can be added.

    This could also be used to move any unsettled debt out of the group (where it might be settled).

Feedback and Knowledge Base