Skip to content

My friend had to cancel their plans and is not coming on our trip. How do I remove them from the group?

If a friend has to cancel a trip or event you’ve been planning with them, you can follow these steps to remove them from their share of expenses:

1. Navigate to your group’s screen
2. Tap on an expense that includes the friend you need to remove
3. Tap the pencil icon to edit the expense
4. Tap ‘equally’ in the ‘Paid by you and split equally’ line
5. Tap on your friend’s name so that they become unchecked
6. Hit ‘save’
7. Repeat for all expenses that involve this friend

You can then follow these steps to remove this person from your group:

1. Tap the icon in the upper right corner of your group’s screen
1a. On Android you’ll then need to select ‘Group Settings’
2. Tap on the ‘x’ by the name of the friend that you’d like to remove

If you’re looking for information about how to manage refunded expenses please see: http://feedback.splitwise.com/knowledgebase/articles/1939972

If you need help editing expenses or have any questions, please let us know at [email protected] 

Feedback and Knowledge Base